• Staff Selection Commission – Combined Graduate Level Examination, often referred to as SSC CGL is an examination conducted to recruit staff to various posts in ministries, departments and organisations of the Government of India. It is conducted by the Staff Selection Commission(SSC) for selecting staff for various Group B and Group C posts. The Staff Selection Commission was established in 1975

Preliminary Examination

  • The preliminary examination will be out of 200 marks. It will have 4 sections, which have to be completed in a total time of 60 minutes(from cgl 2017) (Latest updated on 01March17

1.General Intelligence and Reasoning
2.General Awareness
3.Quantitative Aptitude
4.English Comprehension

Main Examination

  • The main examination will also have four sections. Section 1 and 2 will be compulsory for all candidates who have qualified.[8] Section 3 and 4 are only for candidates who have applied for special posts.

1.Quantitative Ability
2.English Language and Comprehension
4.General Studies (Finance and Economics)

  • SSC has also decided to add a paper based descriptive paper which can be attempted in English or Hindi for Essay, Precis, Letter writing. Besides a Data Entry Skill Test or a Computer Proficiency Test will also be held for some positions. This paper replaced the interview of 100 mark.