State Bank of India (SBI) is an Indian multinational, public sector banking and financial services company. It is a government-owned corporation with its headquarters in Mumbai, Maharashtra. On 1st April, 2017, State Bank of India, which is India’s largest Bank merged with five of its Associate Banks (State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur, State Bank of Hyderabad, State Bank of Mysore, State Bank of Patiala and State Bank of Travancore) and Bharatiya Mahila Bank with itself. This is the first ever large scale consolidation in the Indian Banking Industry. With the merger, State Bank of India will enter the league of top 50 global banks with a balance sheet size of ₹33 trillion, 278,000 employees, 420 million customers, and more than 24,000 branches and 59,000 ATMs. SBI’s market share will increase to 22 percent from 17 per cent.[3] It has 198 offices in 37 countries; 301 correspondents in 72 countries

Associate banks

SBI acquired the control of seven associate banks in 1960. They were the seven regional banks of former Indian princely states, all of them which were renamed with the prefix ‘State Bank’. These seven banks were State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur (SBBJ), State Bank of Hyderabad (SBH), State Bank of Mysore (SBM), State Bank of Patiala (SBP), State Bank of Travancore (SBT), State Bank of Saurashtra (SBS) and State Bank of Indore (SBI – Indore). All these banks used the same logo as its parent bank.

Non-banking subsidiaries

1.SBI Capital Markets Ltd
2.SBI Funds Management Pvt Ltd
3.SBI Factors & Commercial Services Pvt Ltd
4.SBI Cards & Payments Services Pvt. Ltd. (SBICPSL)
6.SBI Life Insurance Company Limited
7.SBI General Insurance